Staff Excellence Awards 2024

Nominations are now closed: come back soon to find out who's been shortlisted.

Nominations are now closed for our Staff Excellence Awards! A big thank you to everyone who submitted a nomination.

Our judging panel are sifting through your nominations, and winners will be announced at our glittering Staff Excellence Awards ceremony.

The categories

There are 12 award categories to choose from:

  • Divisional awards (one for each division)
  • Support and corporate services award 
  • Beryl Carr award for volunteer of the year
  • Quality and improvement award
  • Team of the year award
  • Fundraiser of the year award
  • Learner of the year award
  • Lifetime achievement award.

Divisional awards

Presented to a person or team from each of our clinical divisions who have made an outstanding commitment to:

  • our HEART values
  • patient experience or safety
  • teammate experience.

Our clinical divisions are:

  • Emergency and ambulatory care
  • Medicine and therapies
  • St. Mark’s
  • Surgery
  • Women’s, children’s, and clinical services.

Support and corporate services award

Given to a person or team from our support and corporate services who have shown an exceptional dedication to:

  • our HEART values
  • customer service and experience (both for teammates and patients)
  • supporting personal or professional development.

Our support and corporate services include:

  • Corporate services (for example IT, HR, finance, corporate governance, corporate nursing)
  • Front of house (for example receptionists, cleaners, porters, housekeepers, security)
  • Tradespeople (for example electricians, plumbers, woodworkers, builders).

Beryl Carr award for volunteer of the year

Beryl Carr receives her volunteer of the year award from Pippa Nightingale, CEO, Matthew Swindells, joint chair, and special guest Amanda Holden

Named after the oldest volunteer in NHS history, the Beryl Carr award goes to someone who has given up their valuable time for the benefit of patients or teammates.

Quality and improvement award

Presented to a person or team for innovative, evidence-based, and transformational quality improvement work that enhances the way we care for our patients.

Team of the year award

Judged by our joint chair, this special award goes to an exceptional team (clinical or non-clinical).

Fundraiser of the year award

Awarded to a teammate or team who has dedicated their time to fundraising for the benefit of our patients.

Learner of the year

Presented to an exceptional teammate who is currently in education, or undertaking learning and development, with our Trust.

Lifetime achievement

Judged by our CEO, this special award recognises a remarkable teammate who has served over 15 years with our Trust.

With thanks to LNWH Charity

London North West Healthcare Charity

Our staff excellence awards are made possible thanks to our generous main sponsor, London North West Healthcare Charity