SEA 2018 - web page banner

Nominations are now open for this year’s Staff Excellence Awards.

The awards showcase and celebrate the vital work of our 9,000 staff: from nurses to ward clerks and radiologists to cleaners. Last year 320 people were nominated by grateful patients, family members and colleagues.

There are a total of 12 award categories to submit a nomination for, covering the diverse range of people and skills that work across our hospital and community services. 

Nominations are open until 31 December 2017 and can be made by anyone. All nominations must include examples of work within the last 12 months (unless otherwise stated). 

Winners will be chosen by a panel of judges and will be announced at a special awards ceremony in March 2018.

The categories

Presented to an individual or team from each clinical division (we have five) who has ‘gone the extra mile’ to improve patient safety or patient, carer or staff experience. 

The five divisions are Emergency and Ambulatory Care, Integrated Clinical Services, Integrated Medicine, Surgery and Women’s and Children’s Services.

Integrated Clinical Services category sponsored by:

TDL logo  

Women’s and Children’s Services category sponsored by: 


Recognising an individual or team from our corporate support staff (including HR, finance, facilities, strategy, ICT etc.) who consistently go above and beyond the call of duty in their day-to-day work. 

Sponsored by:

Ambulance Transfers Limited

For an individual, team or service in recognition of outstanding research and development.

Awarded to an individual or team who have given up their time for the benefit of patients and staff.

Sponsored by:


Awarded to a member of staff who has dedicated their time and energy to fundraising activities that benefit the Trust.

Sponsored by:

LNWH Charity

Awarded to an exceptional student, who is either in full time study or is currently undertaking learning and development within the Trust.

A special award to recognise the outstanding contribution made by an exceptional colleague who has served over 15 years in the organisation. The winner will be chosen by the Chief Executive.

Sponsored by:

Network Homes 

A special award to recognise the outstanding contribution made by an exceptional team (clinical or non-clinical) over the past year. The winner will be chosen by the Chairman.

Sponsored by:


Nominate now!

If you want your chosen individual or team to win an award, you have to convince the judges that they stand out from the others. Read these top tips to help you in writing your nomination:

  • Ensure your nomination demonstrates how the individual or team has lived our HEART values of honesty, equality, accountability, respect and teamwork.    
  • Give yourself enough time to write the nomination - don't leave it to the last minute!
  • Choose the most appropriate category for your nomination - read the award criteria carefully before selecting the category for your nomination.   
  • State clearly, at the beginning of your nomination, why you think your nominee deserves to win. You can reiterate this at the end of your nomination as well.   
  • Back up your reasons with examples and evidence of why your nominee deserves to win.   
  • Submit your nomination to just one category - putting the same nomination into multiple categories will not improve your nominees' chances of winning a prize.   
  • Quality, not quantity! The quality of your nomination outweighs the quantity of nominations received, so make sure you provide lots of evidence to back up your nomination. 

Staff Awards 2018 - public button
Staff awards 2018 - staff button

The small print

The following rules have been designed to ensure that the nomination process is as clear and fair as possible.

  • Individuals cannot nominate themselves for an award. Team members can nominate the teams that they work in. 
  • Nominations can be made by anyone (including patients, visitors, carers, volunteers, staff, the public and partners). 
  • Nominations must include examples of work within the last 12 months (unless otherwise stated) and clearly demonstrate how individuals or teams have gone the ‘extra mile’. Without examples we are unable to judge the nomination. 
  • There is no limit to the number of nominations that can be made.  
  • All nominations must be received by 11.30pm on 31 December 2017. Nominations received after this date will not be considered. 
  • Nominators have the right to remain anonymous (their names are not disclosed to their nominee). Please ensure you make it clear when completing the form by ticking the appropriate box. 
  • The judging panel reserve the right to select an alternative category for the nominee to be considered in. 
  • Decisions made by the judging panels are final.

Last year's winners

Take a look at last year's winners for some inspiration.